“Go home to your family and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.” (Mark 5:19b, NIV)

Jesus has just finished a healing.  He’s driven an unclean spirit from a man, and into a lake with herd of swine.  Everyone has begged Jesus to leave the neighborhood, as his powers are too frightening (and perhaps a bit disruptive to the economy).  The man who was healed, however, wants to go with Jesus.

Isn’t that what we’re supposed to do?  Leave everything and follow Jesus?  But in this case, Jesus says no.  He has a different task in mind.  He sends the man home, with orders to tell about what happened.

I want to know more about Jesus, too.  Often, I’d be happy to spend my time reading and studying and getting to know Him, instead of being out in the world.  I’d like to just stick close to Him.

He’s got other work for me, though.  He’s got children for me to teach — mine and others.  He’s got people to be fed.  He’s got people out there who need a connection, a relationship with another person.  And through all of those things, I can tell people about Jesus, about what He has done for me, and what He can do for the world.

